Log Error - Another backup job is running. Backup skipped

 

Problem Description:
When performing a backup of any type, the following warning message is displayed within the user interface or in the client log:

[YYYY/MM/DD hh:mm:ss] [info] [-] Start [ All platforms (eazyBackupSupport), eazyBackup x.x.x.x ]
[YYYY/MM/DD hh:mm:ss] [eazyBackup Storage] [Backupset_id] start,"Start [ All platforms (eazyBackupSupport), eazyBackup x.x.x.x ]",0,0,0,,,
[YYYY/MM/DD hh:mm:ss] [info] [-] Saving encrypted backup set encryption keys to server...
[YYYY/MM/DD hh:mm:ss] [eazyBackup Storage] [-] info,Saving encrypted backup set encryption keys to server...,0,0,0,,,
[YYYY/MM/DD hh:mm:ss] [info] [Backupset_id] Backup job "Backup Set" is still running.
[YYYY/MM/DD hh:mm:ss] [eazyBackup Storage] [Backupset_id] info,"Backup job \"Backup Set\" is still running.",0,0,0,,,
[YYYY/MM/DD hh:mm:ss] [warn] [Backupset_id] Another backup job is still running. Backup skipped.

Cause:
The message suggests that a previous backup of the same backup set is still running, or the previous backup job had ended abruptly.

Resolution:
Allow the in-progress backup job to complete before starting another backup for the same backup set (scheduled or manually).

If there is no previous backup job running, the previous job started for the backup set may had ended abruptly (e.g. server crash, client application crash). Refer to the following steps to clear all obsoleted file(s):

Confirm if there is any 'running' within the ipc folder under the .obm folder at:

${User_Profile}\.obm\ipc\BackupSet\Backupset_id or ${User_Profile}\.acb\ipc\BackupSet\Backupset_id

Remove all files under the ipc directory:

Restart the eazyBackup service afterward.

Note: When a backup job is started manually or automatically at the scheduled time, a 'running' file will be created within the ipc directory to indicate that a backup job is in-progress. Under normal circumstance, the file will be removed automatically when the backup job is completed.

However, for cases where the previous backup job was ended abruptly (e.g. server crash, client application crash), the 'running' file may not be properly cleared. When the next backup job is started, the client agent will detect that the 'running' file exist, misinterpreting that a previous backup job is still in progress.